Sunday, September 10, 2023

Book Review: Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld (A Miss Morton Mystery) by Catherine Lloyd

 

Blurb

From the author of the critically acclaimed Kurland St. Mary series, this new historical mystery series is “a charming cross between a Regency romance and a well‑constructed detective story” (Kirkus Reviews), and will appeal to fans of Victoria Thompson and Deanna Raybourn.

Lady Caroline is happy to be back amid the swirl of London society, guiding her employer’s daughter, Dorothy Frogerton, through her first Season. Dorothy has been declared “an original” by a patron of the exclusive social club, Almack’s, and is sifting through potential suitors. Mrs. Frogerton, meanwhile, finds her own diversions, including spiritualist gatherings at the home of Madam Lavinia, and begs Caroline to come along.
 
Caroline is skeptical of Madam’s antics and faux French accent—until she slips a note into Caroline’s hand, which contains intimate family knowledge. Even as Caroline tries to discern whether the spiritualist’s powers are real, a much darker mystery presents itself. Madam Lavinia is found lifeless in her chair, a half-empty glass of port at her elbow. In her desk is a note addressed to Caroline, entreating her to find her murderer.
 
Caroline needs no psychic abilities to determine a motive, for it seems that Madam was blackmailing some of her clients and has left a trail of aggrieved aristocrats behind. But as Caroline and Mrs. Frogerton investigate further, they find other suspects, and a litany of deceptions, some very close to home. Now Caroline will need to keep all her wits about her if she is to stop others from joining Madam Lavinia in the afterlife . . .

Amazon: Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld (A Miss Morton Mystery Book 2) - Kindle edition by Lloyd, Catherine. Mystery, Thriller & Suspense Kindle eBooks @ Amazon.com.

B&N: Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld by Catherine Lloyd | eBook | Barnes & Noble® (barnesandnoble.com)

Google: Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld by Catherine Lloyd - Books on Google Play

Bookbub: Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld (A Miss Morton Mystery Book 2) by Catherine Lloyd - BookBub

Goodreads: Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld by Catherine Lloyd | Goodreads





My Review - 4 of 5 stars - 

I enjoy this duet of Caroline and Mrs. Frogerton. This time out, Mrs. Frogerton found spiritualism and dragged Caroline along. Secrets led to murder and a note for Caroline. I loved how they worked out the clues together. A bit on the long side, but overall, the secrets, danger, and witty conversations kept this story moving along.

I received an ARC, and this is my unsolicited review.



No comments:

Post a Comment

Free!!! Wild Mountain Scots (Obsessed, Hunted, and Stolen) by Jolie Vines, free for a limited time

Look! A summer gift from Jolie to you  If you like hot Scots, then you can start Jolie’s Wild Mountain Scots series as the first 3 books are...